LUAMacros Get/SetVariable in XPlane11 doesn't work with Laminar Datarefs

Report any bugs or suspicious behaviour here
Post Reply
carse77
Posts: 4
Joined: 08 Sep 2019, 15:30

LUAMacros Get/SetVariable in XPlane11 doesn't work with Laminar Datarefs

Post by carse77 » 08 Sep 2019, 18:37

I have problems getting or setting Aerosoft Datarefs in Xplane 11.

When the commands are not enough, I tend to use the datarefs variables with the LUA lmc get, set or inc commands

When using these together with eg the Aerosoft B737-800 they are not connecting to the sim. I have used them with other planes such as Rotate's MD88 with no problem. Also the build-in sim/... datarefs works as intended. I have no problems when just using the Aerosoft COMMAND-xrefs.

I've e.g tried these LUA commands:
print (lmc_get_xpl_variable('laminar/B738/engine/mixture_ratio1'))
print (lmc_get_xpl_variable('laminar/B738/ice/eng1_heat_pos'))

when commencing one of the above commands the LuaMacros output-prompt states:
'No value returned from Xplane'

It looks like a spelling error in the 'laminar/....' string, but it's spelled as in the Laminar documentation.
Or maybe the LuaMacros doesn't get along with the XLua 1.0.0r in Xplane used with the Aerosoft planes???

Any suggestions appreciated.
Last edited by carse77 on 09 Sep 2019, 18:28, edited 1 time in total.

admin
Site Admin
Posts: 600
Joined: 01 Nov 2010, 13:00
Location: Prague, Czech republic
Contact:

Re: LUAMacros Get/SetVariable in XPlane11 doesn't work with Aerosoft Datarefs

Post by admin » 09 Sep 2019, 08:46

LuaMacros plugin uses standard xplane SDk to read/set datarefs. If it works for standards it seems that communication between luamacros (program) and plugin works well. I don't own Aerosoft plane so cannot test myself.
Are you able to read/set these datarefs e.g. in daratef editor plugin?
Petr Medek
LUAmacros author

carse77
Posts: 4
Joined: 08 Sep 2019, 15:30

Re: LUAMacros Get/SetVariable in XPlane11 doesn't work with Aerosoft Datarefs

Post by carse77 » 09 Sep 2019, 15:47

Hi Petr. Thanks for the quick reply! I'll try to find such a plugin to see. I gave Aerosoft the credits for the planes but of course it is Laminar - as the datarefs also imply - Sorry for that!! The planes are the default ones that comes with Xplane 11.

… I've got the DataRef Editor (DRE) plugin from by Sandy Barbour and Ben Supnik! What an awesome tool !!!

The specific datarefs works fine with the tool, but cannot be read by LuaMacros via the lmc_get_xpl_variable. it returns:'No value returned from Xplane' when printed to the output prompt in LuaMacros.
I've also tried the Laminar Beachcraft Kingair C90B with eg. the XRef: 'laminar/c90/gear/handle_detent' and the failure also applies to this
The command works for the same plane with other Xrefs than the laminar - eg. the 'sim/cockpit2/engine/actuators/mixture_ratio_all' gets the variable as suspected.
Could it be because of some single/double parsing error??

admin
Site Admin
Posts: 600
Joined: 01 Nov 2010, 13:00
Location: Prague, Czech republic
Contact:

Re: LUAMacros Get/SetVariable in XPlane11 doesn't work with Laminar Datarefs

Post by admin » 10 Sep 2019, 09:23

Double/single quotes should not play a role.
So I'll try to read "non-standard" variables from some custom plane and see if I have the same behavior.
Petr Medek
LUAmacros author

carse77
Posts: 4
Joined: 08 Sep 2019, 15:30

Re: LUAMacros Get/SetVariable in XPlane11 doesn't work with Laminar Datarefs

Post by carse77 » 11 Sep 2019, 16:24

Thanks. I've also tried removing the custom Zibo-mod B737-800 from the Installation and this doesn't help either.

Post Reply